Love of learning, or not

I like to laugh. I show my affection to those close to me by teasing them to no end. That’s just the kind of person I am. I’m goofy. But if there’s one thing I’m serious about, it’s my education. I am paying a lot to go to college. My parents are paying a lot for me to go to college. I consider myself blessed to have the opportunity to attend a really good university. I’m not about to throw that away. No one should take that for granted. Which is why it really gets to me when people don’t care.

So one of my biggest pet peeves are people who use phones or computers in class for anything other than taking notes. For one, it’s disrespectful to the professor. Students are very judgmental towards professors. They seem to think that they have no reason to think highly of professors. Where this idea comes from, I have no idea. Most of the time, college professors are a wealth of knowledge. It’s not like anyone can do what they do. These are people who spent years and years becoming experts in their fields. All these pretentious students certainly do not know more than them.

It really bothers me that people value Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc over gaining knowledge. I mean, what does that say about our generation? What kind of doctors, scientists, engineers are coming out of these classes. I certainly don’t want someone who spent class texting his/her friends operating on me. What detail might he/she have missed? It’s a frightening thought.

But these students don’t see education as the privilege that it is. In fact, when a girl from my university found out that she had a failing midterm grade, she was outraged. Not because she had worked to hard to earn such a grade (I assure you she didn’t) but because, and I will use her exact words, “we’re paying way too much to get Fs”.

Are you kidding me???

I honestly was so upset by this comment. I mean, the last time I checked, grades were not given based on your income, but rather your performance in class. But then it scared me that maybe this is a reality. That grades are given based on how much mom and dad donated to the school. The system is so skewed.

But the real problem is the same one that causes students to pay no attention in class. Those students who feel they are so much better than everyone else in the room, that they shouldn’t be subjected to such a boring hour wasting their lives. There is no value in education. No love of learning. Maybe it’s the fault of the education and testing system (I’ll save comment on those flaws for another day), but whatever the cause, students don’t desire to know more. They do what they can to get the grade so that they can move on to the next step in their lives, check off another achievement. There is no joy in it for them. I love to learn. I love gathering knowledge, collecting facts, hoarding information. But I guess I’m in the minority.

Leave a Reply

