I’m not a princess, this ain’t a fairytale

Once upon a time, I wanted a fairy tale ending. I wanted a prince. My knight in shining armor was supposed to rush in on his valiant white steed to rescue me and we would ride off into the sunset and live happily ever after. So I waited. And I waited. But all this time searching the horizon, waiting for my one true love to appear gave me time to think. As I sat in my tower, alone with my thoughts, something dawned on me.

 

I don’t want a prince.

 

But really. I don’t want someone to sweep me off my feet and carry me away. I hate not having control. I don’t care if it’s Channing Tatum who picks me up, I’m probably going to kick and scream until he puts me down. I don’t want to be the poor girl who some guy turned into a princess. I want to be on equal ground. I don’t want a prince, I want a sidekick. He shouldn’t have to help me out of trouble, he should be right there getting into trouble with me. I am not a pretty face. I have Mulan’s strength, Ariel’s voice, Tiana’s dedication, Aurora’s dreams, and Elsa’s independence. I deserve more than a prince who will take care of me. I deserve a best friend who will love me.

 

So I won’t sit around waiting for love any more. I escape my tower and venture out into life. If I’m lucky, I will run into love along the way. And if not, maybe I will just find myself. 

Leave a Reply

